Roberto Baggio: "If I Could, I Would Still Be Playing Football"

Posted on 09/11/2010

0


Roberto Baggio admits he would still play football, and regrets his exclusion at World Cup 2002…


Italy legend Roberto Baggio admits he misses football, and would still be playing if he had the chance.

“It was like dying [leaving football]. I would have liked to have played until… I would still like to play,” he toldVanity Fair.

“If I never have that knee injury then it would have been different, it may even have been possible, but we only have one story.”

Baggio believes he could have made a difference to Italy’s World Cup chances in 2002, but he was given the elbow by then coach Giovanni Trapattoni.

“World Cup 2002 would have been my fourth tournament, and I should have been there. For the career I had it was my right to be there,” he said.

“They should have taken me that time, even in a wheelchair they should have taken me.

“Myself and Ronaldo had just returned from long injuries. He was picked for Brazil and he won it, I stayed at home.”


Source: Goal.com
Posted in: News, Thoughts