Del Piero: ‘Happy birthday, Diego!’

Posted on 30/10/2010

0


Alessandro Del Piero reveals what Diego Armando Maradona means to him in wishing a happy 50th birthday.

“For those of my generation, and perhaps not just for us, Diego Armando Maradona was a reference point for the football world,” wrote the Juventus captain on alessandrodelpiero.com.

“He combined creativity with quality and effectiveness… When he arrived at Napoli, I was 10 years old and even if as you know my football heart belonged to another club, I was swept up like every other lover of this sport by a phenomenon who could do incredible things with the ball.

“I think one of the great privileges of someone who does this for a living is being able to give joy to the people. He certainly represents this concept better than anyone.

“On the day of his 50th birthday, I want to join the thousands of messages that are flooding in on this sort of ‘Maradona Day,’” continued Del Piero.

“I remember with great pride and joy the lovely things he said about me on the splendid night at the Bernabeu, when I scored a brace against Real Madrid with him in the stands.

“This is a great opportunity to thank him, not just for the compliments, but above all for having given unforgettable moments to all those who love this sport.

“Also, obviously, happy birthday!”


Posted in: News, Thoughts