Ferrara’s ‘chance to grow’

Posted on 25/10/2010

0


Ciro Ferrara insists the Italy Under-21 job is a ‘chance to grow’ and not a ‘step back’ following his dismissal from Juventus in the spring. 

The 42-year-old replaced Pierluigi Casiraghi last week, signing a three-year deal and was formally unveiled to the Italian media this afternoon. 

Ferrara’s former Juventus teammate Angelo Peruzzi was sat alongside him at the Press Conference in Rome in his role as Assistant Coach. 

“I am happy but also surprised,” Ferrara said. “I didn’t expect the call from the Federation. 

“For me this is not a step back, but a chance to grow.”

When asked to reflect on his brief experience with Juventus, he replied: “It gave me a lot even if it ended badly.

“I was chosen [for the Italy Under-21 job] because of my technical and human qualities. I am not even Sacchi-like. 

“Sure I have heard from Lippi. He hasn’t given me any advice. He was only happy with the Federation’s decision,” Ferrara concluded. 


Source: Football-Italia

