Del Piero: «Equalizing Boniperti is a reason to be proud»

Posted on 17/10/2010

0


178 goals in the Serie A, like Giampiero Boniperti. Alessandro Del Piero equalized another record adding to his personal tally: «I am happy. In the championship, I hadn’t scored for 5 months, even though there were the holidays in between and the goal came during a beautiful match. I am satisfied, because equalizing a mythical player like Boniperti, who is in the heart of the supporters, is a reason to be proud. Whether I must break his record? He always said he would be happy if it were me to break it. I will call him and ask but I am sure his joy will be real». 

Another record equalized, but what is the secret?: «Always posing objectives for oneself, work while enjoying it with passion and enthusiasm and living this profession to the full. I have always done so and as long as my legs and the passion permit I will be more then happy to continue doing so». 

Asked how much the Andrea Agnelli presidency is helping Juventus, the captain answered: «The family was always close to us. Even John, when we were in the Serie B, once said something which I will always remember: “You will be proud of this year in the Serie B” and he was right. This year, we changed a great deal, not only the presidency, but also the technical staff, the medical staff and ten players…It is still a delicate moment for us but the fact that we have Andrea close to us gives us security and strength».
Source: Juventus.com
Posted in: News, Thoughts