Aquilani: ‘It’s time to win’

Posted on 08/09/2010

0


Juventus’ new signing Alberto Aquilani insists it isn’t the time for talking, but winning instead. 

The 26-year-old midfielder arrived on loan from Liverpool this summer with a view to a permanent transfer at the end of the season. 

His past with Roma has often come up in recent weeks, but Aquilani isn’t ashamed to say that he is having no problem settling in at Juventus. 

“Turin has made a beautiful impact on me,” he told Tuttosport. “I also like the climate because with respect to Liverpool… 

“It’s a beautiful city. I didn’t expect it to be like this. It has been a positive surprise. 

“Juventus on the other hand aren’t a surprise. I knew the city, but Juventus is Juventus just like you see on the outside. It’s one of the most important clubs in the world.”

When asked to describe how his move came about, Aquilani said: “It was really fast, a blitz… 

“One day I was speaking with Hodgson and we were discussing Liverpool’s season and three days later I found myself having a medical in Turin. 

“Liverpool counted on me and in the end I would also have stayed because at the end of last season I was getting in gear physically and I had played the last eight games of the campaign. 

“The fans had started to show me affection. Then this opportunity arrived and I didn’t even need a minute to think about it. Liverpool wanted to only send me on loan, but Marotta insisted to have the option to buy.”

Aquilani also revealed that he was close to Juventus two years ago. 

“There was strong interest, but I was younger and Roma didn’t want to sell me in any way. In my heart, I thought about staying at Roma for my entire career, a little like De Rossi and Totti. 

“Then the following year they sold me to Liverpool and I understood that my destiny was perhaps different to theirs. Anyway, there are no regrets.”

Looking ahead to this season, Aquilani said: “We need to get results, then we can start the discussions. 

“It’s not the moment to make predictions, but time to win. It’s an important season for me and Juve.

”There will certainly be difficult moments and we need to be good at facing them, but there are the conditions to do well here.” 


Source: Football-Italia

Posted in: News, Thoughts