Amauri: ‘We can be spectacular’

Posted on 10/08/2010

0


Amauri thinks with practice he can create “something spectacular” with Mario Balotelli and Antonio Cassano.

“It is wonderful. In these two days of training I thought that making my international debut at the age of 30 is a great feeling,” said the Brazilian-born striker who gained Italian citizenship in March.

He got his first Azzurri cap in a 1-0 friendly defeat to the Ivory Coast at Upton Park.

“It’s wonderful playing alongside Balotelli and Cassano; I hope we can do it many more times. They’re fantastic players and once we find the right movements, we can do something spectacular.

“Everything is fun with those two, on and off the field, so they contribute to the enthusiasm around the side.

“Aside from the result, today we were playing together for the first time and created some good chances. We were just missing the goal and it will come eventually.”

It is a risky tactic employed by Cesare Prandelli, who fielded a 4-2-3-1 system with Amauri, Balotelli, Cassano and Simone Pepe.

“We need the right mentality and willingness to work for our teammates. We all ran today and the Ivory Coast had just one shot in the first half, then the headed goal in the second.

“As the Coach said, it takes sacrifice and we will work hard for each other,” continued the Juventus forward.

“I am playing in one of the top national teams in the world. Of course they want to get back up there and I’ll work hard to stay in the squad, as one cap isn’t enough for me!

“I saw there is real enthusiasm in the side and I must thank my teammates, who tried to make me feel at ease right from the moment I arrived.”


Posted in: News, Thoughts