‘Juve lack four players’

Posted on 15/07/2010

0


Juventus’ new boss Gigi Del Neri has hinted that the club’s summer spending has yet to end as he still needs four new players.
 
The Bianconeri have been the most active Italian team in the transfer market, signing Marco Storari, Leonardo Bonucci, Jorge Martinez, Simone Pepe and Marco Motta for €32m.
 
Speaking from the club’s training camp in Pinzolo, Del Neri said: “We are still incomplete. We lack an winger, a centre-back, a full-back and a striker if one leaves.”
 
Del Neri then elaborated on his position on Diego, the Brazilian playmaker, who doesn’t appear to suit his tactics.
 
“Diego is a deep-lying second striker. He is a Cristiano Doni: for me it’s not a novelty to play this way. Time will tell if I am right. But he is not in competition with Iaquinta. The role is the same, but they are different. Diego doesn’t have Iaquinta’s penetration and Iaquinta doesn’t have Diego’s qualities.
 
“I repeat, I am playing with a central striker and one that plays behind him or with two high strikers, not two deep ones. These are my ideas and I am trying to inculcate them into the players.”


Source: Footall-Italia

