Zac hails Alex the great

Posted on 19/02/2010

0



Alberto Zaccheroni has welcomed the return of the real Alessandro Del Piero after his performance against Ajax last night.



The talismanic Juventus captain won rave reviews from the tactician after his impressive performance at the Amsterdam Arena.

“Del Piero had a great game,” said Zaccheroni after the crucial 2-1 win. “He was extraordinary for his lucidity, substance and dynamism.”




Del Piero had a hand in both of Amauri’s towering headers just days after himself netting a brace against Genoa.

“He took responsibility for his team,” continued Zac, whose Juve record now reads two wins and two draws from four games. “I’ve not seen him play like that for some time.”

Adding even more credibility to his performance is that the veteran is now approaching his 36th birthday.

“I may be 35-and-a-half-years-old, but I don’t feel that old,” said the club legend. “I feel in good shape and I want to continue for as long as possible.

“I also thank Coach Zaccheroni for his kind words after the match, but it is right to also praise my teammates for their marvellous display this evening.”

Del Piero is currently contracted to the Old Lady until June 2011.


Posted in: News, Thoughts