Zac promises fourth place

Posted on 16/02/2010

0


Juventus boss Alberto Zaccheroni believes his side will have no problem finishing in fourth place this season. 

The 56-year-old who replaced Ciro Ferrara last month won his first game in charge on Sunday against Genoa.

Juventus currently lie sixth in Serie A, albeit just a point outside the lucrative Champions League places.

Speaking to La Gazzetta dello Sport, Zac was asked if he felt weak on being given a four-month contract.

“No, because the club has been very clear and when it is like that there is never a problem. They have entrusted me with an objective and it’s up to me to ensure the team reaches the Champions League. It’s not important if we finish third or fourth.

“Champions League qualification, this is my mission, even if we don’t have a favourable fixture list in front of us with four away games coming up. But it’s also true that my teams have never made a distinction between playing at home and away.

“I don’t know what the directors have in mind if I realise the objective. Anyway I don’t expect anything. At the end of the season everyone will make their own judgements and then we’ll be friends like before.

“My contract expires on June 30. But I am behaving as if I were staying here for 20 years and the players treat me as if it were up to me to decide who goes and who stays at the end of the season.” 


Posted in: News, Thoughts