Del Piero proud of time in Serie B

Posted on 16/02/2010

0


Reflecting on his 445 League appearances for Juventus, Alessandro Del Piero says he is even proud of the 31 he made in Serie B.

The 35-year-old legend has now overtaken Giampiero Boniperti in the Bianconeri’s all-time appearance charts.

“Another record, but I still haven’t got used to it,” Del Piero wrote on his official website.

“And I don’t believe that I will ever get used to breaking records like these, because for me they are not only celebrations of what I have achieved, but motivation to still do better.

“I made my 445th League appearance with the Juventus shirt against Genoa. It’s a day to remember, starting with the applause from the crowd at the Olimpico who paid tribute to me when Roberto Bettega gave me a shirt with the number 445 on the back.

“It made me very happy to receive that applause before the beginning of the game in a moment in which the fans have had little to celebrate seeing the difficult moment we are passing, without a victory since January 6. I am happy to have been able to repay them at the end of the game.

“I have overtaken Boniperti in the table of League appearances, and here’s why it’s an important record. Once again my career intertwines with that of the President who brought me to Juventus, the man who made history on the pitch and within the club itself.

“I heard from him a little while ago. We joked about the games. He played all his 444 in Serie A. Instead within my 445 there are also 31 in Serie B… But joking aide, for what they meant to my career and to Juventus’s history, those appearances in Serie B are a motive of pride,” he concluded. 


Source: Football-Italia

