It’s time to change, says Zac

Posted on 29/01/2010

0


Juventus’s new boss Alberto Zaccheroni insists it is now time for the team to turn over a new leaf after a terrible couple of months.

The Bianconeri dismissed Ciro Ferrara on Friday after a run of nine defeats in 12 games left the Turin giants out of the Champions League, out of the Coppa Italia, and 16 points adrift of League leaders Inter.

Juventus President Jean-Claude Blanc tried to lure both Rafael Benitez and Guus Hiddink, but couldn’t get either to commit and so the Bianconeri hired Zaccheroni as a caretaker until the end of the season.

The 56-year-old, who incidentally becomes only the third Coach ever to train Inter, Milan and Juventus, took his first training session at Vinovo today ahead of Sunday’s match against Lazio.

Speaking at his official unveiling, Zaccheroni said: “It’s right to turn the page. I recognise the previous work, because Juventus have proposed a winning-style of football, but I don’t know the squad temperamentally.

“I like new challenges, a new cycle begins. The squad is very important and I don’t know how many teams are superior to Juve. I will bring my shrewdness, but above all I am convinced that I will manage to win this challenge.

“I have only coached one team of a great level and that was Milan; this Juventus is very close to it.

“I have signed a contract until June 30, but I hope to put my directors in difficulty. Sitting on Juventus’s bench is like being on top of the world. I will try to transmit my determination.

“I will ask the team to make all its talent available. We need to go and get results. We won’t give ourselves limits. We’ll see how much time it takes us to get on the right track.

“We are starting again with the idea shared about Juventus at the start of the season. Juve were tipped by many to win the championship.”

Juventus President Jean-Claude Blanc soon weighed in with some thoughts of his own, the first among which concerned Ferrara.

“I would once again like to thank him. I respect Ciro a lot on a professional and human plane. But football is cruel and at times it forces you to make painful choices.

“Zaccheroni guarantees experience at the highest levels, which is necessary in this difficult moment. The decision is shared by the board, the shareholders and the owner,” Blanc concluded. 


Source: Football-Italia

Posted in: News, Thoughts