Candreva promises celebration

Posted on 21/01/2010

0


Juventus’s new signing Antonio Candreva has promised to celebrate if he scores against hometown club Roma on Saturday.

The 22-year-old, who has spent the last season and a half on loan at Livorno from Udinese, is expected to make his debut in Turin against the team he supported as a boy.

“These things pass you by on a second level. Now I wear a very important jersey like that of Juventus and I am only thinking about this,” Candreva said.

“If I were to score, I would certainly celebrate, also because I have never played for Roma.”

Speaking to the Juventus Channel, Candreva revealed his first impressions of the Bianconeri.

“I am proud to wear this shirt. I can’t wait to begin this new adventure. Yesterday I left Livorno for Milan to sign the contract. Later in the evening I arrived in Turin and this morning I made a brief visit of the club’s offices.

“It has been a wonderful emotion to see the pictures of all the great champions that have played for this club. I have also met Ferrara who wished me good luck.

“To arrive in a team like Juve is the dream of any player. I didn’t expect this opportunity to arrive so soon. They are all emotional back at home. It’s a wonderful achievement.

“I will try to show that I can be a useful player for Juventus.”

Candreva then shed a little light on the role he is expected to perform for the Bianconeri.

“I have always been a trequartista or a winger. I think that by playing every Sunday the right experience matures you. I am not someone who scores many goals. I prefer to assist my team-mates.

“I hope to repeat what good I have done up until now also at Juventus, but I know that I still have to improve. I repeat, I hope to earn the trust of the Coach and of my team-mates.”

Finally Candreva admitted he isn’t thinking about the World Cup just yet.

“It’s always a wonderful emotion to wear the blue jersey even for the Under-21s. I am not thinking about the World Cup because first I have to think about doing well with Juve and then in June we’ll see.

“I am happy that there are many internationals at Juventus. I already knew Marchisio, Giovinco and De Ceglie having played with them for Italy’s youth teams and now I will also get to know the rest of the group,” he concluded. 


Football-Italia

Posted in: News, Thoughts